Has anyone found a way to make inputs fields (string selectors, object dropdowns, date pickers, etc.) on an overlay in workshop autosave without the user submitting an action? Any autosave wisdom in general would be appreciated, I am trying to avoid custom widgets
Hi @munterhalter,
In general for this to work there should be a trigger when you call an action to write/update object in the object type.
It is best you stop the “Close overlay on backdrop click” this way the user is forced to click on the close/minimise button.
I dont think it is directly possible to autosave using the widgets available in workshop.
But again, if I want to submit details then the usual flow is overlay->Confirmation->Save
Im curious about the requirement and also if there is a direct solution to this
Thanks for the response @Benutzer7 . I think the “on close” is only a trigger for variable changes/overlays, not calling an action. When you say your usual flow is overlay → confirmation → save, is the user clicking submit on an action? Or did you find a way to close out an overlay and have an action submit without any other clicks?
It would also have to submit be any time that a field is changed, since a refresh of the website is not closing an overlay but would require that the fields be autosaved. Let me know if you have any thoughts, thank you! @Benutzer7
Fundamentally, the ontology seems to operate as the database for Workshop, so no data will persist without running an action (persisting to the database).
That being said, you can get clever with full screen stuff in Workshop because a button can trigger an action and then do an event (close a full screen overlay). You could then detect when the information in a variable in the form differs from the value in the ontology to show a “close and save” button that tells the user their information will be changed.
The main thing this doesn’t help with, and doesn’t answer your question, is that you still have to use actions even though it is disguised, and if the user closes the browser tab before exiting the overlay, all the information will be lost.