# How do I undo a merge / unmerge a change from a branch?

**URL:** <https://community.palantir.com/t/how-do-i-undo-a-merge-unmerge-a-change-from-a-branch/3432>\
**Category:** Ask the Community\
**Tags:** global-branching\
**Created:** [April 7, 2025, 9:40pm UTC](https://community.palantir.com/t/how-do-i-undo-a-merge-unmerge-a-change-from-a-branch/3432 "2025-04-07T21:40:18Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![pnguyen](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/p/b4bc9f/32.png) [@pnguyen](https://community.palantir.com/u/pnguyen)\
**Post date:** [April 7, 2025, 9:40pm UTC](https://community.palantir.com/t/how-do-i-undo-a-merge-unmerge-a-change-from-a-branch/3432/1 "2025-04-07T21:40:18Z")

</div>

I’ve recently merged a series of changes from my Foundry Branch. Is it possible to undo the merge or unmerge those changes?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![pnguyen](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/p/b4bc9f/32.png) [@pnguyen](https://community.palantir.com/u/pnguyen)\
**Post date:** [April 7, 2025, 9:42pm UTC](https://community.palantir.com/t/how-do-i-undo-a-merge-unmerge-a-change-from-a-branch/3432/2 "2025-04-07T21:42:56Z")

</div>

Currently, there is not a consolidated solution to undo a merge via the branching app. In som applications, you have the ability to revert the resource to a previous version. So you could “undo” your merge by iterativelty reverting the versions.

**Workshop** :  
Within Workshop, clicking the version underneath the module name provides the Versions dialog were you can select the desired version to revert to:

 ![image (41)](https://canada1.discourse-cdn.com/palantir/original/2X/b/bb6b91841fcaf08d422c1b33ef15070f2a51a15b.jpeg)

**Pipeline Builder:**  
Within Pipeline Builder, on the history tab, you can select the desired version to reset to:

 ![2025-04-07_16-14-12](https://canada1.discourse-cdn.com/palantir/original/2X/1/1e4358bb8ff564fc8b13017817caa9890fc56446.jpeg)

**Ontology Manager:**  
Ontology Manager does not provide a one-click revert option at this time, but you can in the History tab to identify the changes and manually revert by making the reverse changes.

 ![image (40)](https://canada1.discourse-cdn.com/palantir/original/2X/b/b3523a53db3af3ee0872927be048429abe50a4f3.png)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://yyz1.discourse-cdn.com/palantir/user_avatar/community.palantir.com/system/32/3_2.png) [@system](https://community.palantir.com/u/system)\
**Post date:** [June 6, 2025, 9:43pm UTC](https://community.palantir.com/t/how-do-i-undo-a-merge-unmerge-a-change-from-a-branch/3432/3 "2025-06-06T21:43:50Z")

</div>

Closed on June 6, 2025, 9:43pm UTC

This topic was automatically closed 60 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
